Kicking off Haiku Sunday

Haiku Sunday

Just a little weekly thing I want to do. I don’t always have time to post, but I think everyone has time to come up with a haiku. If you don’t already know, a haiku is a short Japanese poem. It doesn’t have to rhyme, all you need to do is count out the syllables of each line to make sure that the order goes:

5 Syllables

7 Syllables

5 Syllables

That’s it. Essentially, these are the easiest poems to write. And I’d like to make one every week. So to start off, I’m going to post three haikus I’ve made in the past.

The rays of the sun

Break through the clouds and I see

I have a shadow.

You can talk and talk

about doing a good thing

without doing it.

“Never” is a word

that we just don’t understand

and we never will.

Now I can’t get away with using an old haiku in the future. From now all it will only be fresh. If you’d like to try your hand at composing a haiku, feel free to leave some in the comments. The same applies if you’re a seasoned pro or you have some favorites from someone else.

Who doesn’t love haikus? 🙂

Japanese-Flowers-Art-Wallpaper-Painting-1024x640

Update: Week #2

Update: Week #3

Update: Week #4

Update: Week #5

Update: Week #6

Update: Week #7

Update: Week #8

Update: Week #9

Update: Week #10

13 thoughts on “Kicking off Haiku Sunday

  1. Pingback: Abstractitude

Go ahead, leave a comment.